Elected & Appointed Officials

Electoral Board

  • William H. Watts, Sr., Chairman, Portsmouth Electoral Board
  • Curtis L. Gunn, Vice-Chairman, Portsmouth Electoral Board
  • Carol Summerlyn, Secretary, Portsmouth Electoral Board
  • Deloris Overton Short, General Registrar/Director of Elections
801 Crawford Street
First Floor
Portsmouth, VA 23704

Phone: 757-393-8644
Fax: 757-393-5415

Department of Elections

The Washington Building
1100 Bank Street
Richmond, VA 23219

Phone: 800-552-9745
Fax: 804-371-0194


 The Honorable Kenneth I. Wright
Phone: 757-393-8639


 The Honorable Elizabeth M. Psimas
Phone: 757-393-8639

City Council


School Board

  • Chairman -  The Honorable Claude C. Parent, Jr.
  • Vice-Chair -  The Honorable Costella B. Williams
  • The Honorable James E. Bridgeford
  • The Honorable Rev. Joseph A. Fleming
  • The Honorable Sarah Duncan Hinds (To fill an unexpired term ending December 31, 2016)
  • The Honorable Ted J. Lamb
  • The Honorable B. Keith Nance, Sr.
  • The Honorable Rev. Cardell C. Patillo, Jr.
  • The Honorable Dr. Ingrid P. Whitaker
  • Division Superintendent - Dr. Elie Bracy, III (Phone: 757-393-8742)

Current Lists

For a current listing of elected and appointed officials, please contact the Office of the General Registrar between the hours of 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.
Phone: 757-393-8644
Fax: 757-393-5415