Portsmouth Port and Industrial Commission

​The Portsmouth Ports and Industrial Commission (PPIC) was specifically created for Portsmouth by the Virginia General Assembly in 1954.  The PPIC is composed of seven (7) City Council-appointed Commissioners serving staggered five-year terms.  The Commission works closely with the Department of Economic Development staff to foster and stimulate the commerce of the maritime industry and related economic development in Portsmouth.

​The PPIC holds its regular monthly meeting on the fourth (4th) Tuesday of each month at 8:00 AM in the City Council Conference Room on the sixth (6th) Floor of Portsmouth City Hall at 801 Crawford Street.

PPIC Board of Commissioners

  • Edward A. Barham, Chair
  • Vaughnchette Rudisill, Vice Chair
  • CAPT George E. Watkins (Ret.), Treasurer
  • James E. Bento
  • Guy "Rob" Maguire
  • James E. Toups
  • Guy T. Wallace
For more information about serving board member, please contact the City Clerk's Office.