Economic Development Authority

Kroger Marketplace

The Economic Development Authority (EDA) of the City of Portsmouth, Virginia was chartered in 1968.  The EDA is composed of seven (7) City Council-appointed Commissioners, serving staggered four (4) year terms.  The Authority works closely with the Department of Economic Development staff to foster and stimulate economic development in Portsmouth.

​The EDA holds its regular monthly meetings on the 3rd Tuesday of each month at 8:00 AM in the City Council Conference Room on the sixth (6th) Floor of Portsmouth City Hall at 801 Crawford Street.

EDA Board of Commissioners

  • Dean A. Thomasson, Chair
  • Junius L.Thompson, III, Vice Chair
  • Andrew D. Baillie, Treasurer
  • Anthony W. Hinds
  • Miriam J. Jiggetts
  • Aaron J. Kelley
For more information about serving as a board member, please contact the City Clerk's office.