Planning Commission

Out of an abundance of caution due to novel Coronavirus (COVID-19), all City of Portsmouth Planning Department offices are currently physically closed to the public. However, our staff is still working and is here to assist you virtually. The public is encouraged to use the city’s online options for services.

Visit this page for more details regarding virtual meetings and status.

Applicants are encouraged to contact staff via email or phone.

Staff Directory

Mission Statement

The Commission’s primary responsibility is to make recommendations to the City Council on matters related to comprehensive and current planning and land use development. 

Planning Commission Meeting

Meetings held virtually in the Microsoft Teams application

1:30 PM

1st Tuesday of each month 

2021 Planning Commission Meeting Schedule

Note: Applications and all supporting materials must be received eight (8) weeks prior to the meeting.

Upcoming Meeting Information

Planning Commission Meeting Videos on YouTube

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

 View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes

Agenda Items for March Meeting 

Z-20-11 (Westhaven) and UP-20-12 (Westhaven) The applicant has withdrawn these applications.

CBE-21-01 (Mimosa Cove) – Rodney Flores of Pinnacle Group Engineering, Inc., on behalf of William S. Dodson, Jr., requests a Chesapeake Bay Exception for an attached garage, swimming pool, chicken coop, trellis, and associated Best Management Practices (BMPs) at 801 Mimosa Road. The property is zoned Urban Residential, UR, and is further described as Tax Map 637, Parcel 6.1. The Build One Portsmouth Comprehensive Plan recommends high density single-family residential development for the property. This application is deferred to the April 6, 2021 public hearing. 

UP-21-01 (Mount Hermon) – Robert C. Barclay,  IV, Esquire of Cooper, Spong and Davis, PC, on behalf of the Mount Hermon Community Improvement Foundation, requests a Use Permit at 3001 High Street for an entertainment establishment. The property is zoned General Mixed Use, GMU, and is further described as Tax Map 199, Parcel 11. The Build One Portsmouth Comprehensive Plan recommends commercial development.  

UP-21-02 (I-264/164 M L King Expressway) – Kenjoh Outdoor, LLC requests a Use Permit to construct a new 14’ x 48’ (672 square foot), 50-foot high permanent freestanding outdoor adverting sign (“Billboard”) on a 1.914 acre lot located at 1420 Columbus Ave near the I-264/164 M L King Expressway westbound ramp (Exit 6). The Property is zoned Industrial (IN) and the Future Land Use Map of the Build One Portsmouth Comprehensive Plan designates the property as Heavy Industrial. The property is owned by William A. Hall and is further described as Tax Map 208, Parcel 2.1. 

UP-21-03 (Evergreen at Bethel) – Alvin Keels, of D&K Builders, requests a Use Permit for a 280-unit multi-family and mixed-use development consisting of seven four-story apartment buildings and a restaurant within a clubhouse on a 13.79 acre parcel at 4358 Greenwood Drive in the Multi-Family Urban Residential (UR-M) zoning district with a proposed density of 20.30 dwelling units per acre. The Future Land Use Map of the Build One Portsmouth Comprehensive Plan designates this property for Single-Family Residential – Low/Med. Density. The property is owned by the Cavalier Manor Development Group LLC and is identified as Tax Map 559, Parcel 1.

Planning Commission Members

  •  Albert Williams, Chairman
  •  Peter Youngblood
  •  Occasio Gee
  •  Sherri Thaxton 
  •  Donna Coleman
  •  Primas Paige

Past Planning Commission Meeting Videos

Video recordings of Planning Commission meetings can be viewed on YouTube here.

Planning Commission Meeting and Application Deadline Calendar

Click on the month to expand the image.

february 2021 pc calendar
march 2021 pc calendar
Planning Commission April 2021 calendar