The Portsmouth Museum & Fine Arts Commission

The Portsmouth Museum & Fine Arts Commission (MFAC) is an official advisor to the City government and City Council on all museums, cultural and fine arts activities, and programs in the City.  The Commission consists of 15 members appointed by the City Council.   Members are appointed to terms of three years and may be appointed for a second three-year term.  

Mission Statement

Recognizing the intrinsic value of the arts for an enhanced quality of life, a positive economic impact, and an improved perception of the Portsmouth community, the Museum, and Fine Arts Commission, serving in an advisory capacity to the City Council, educates, preserves and promotes our cultural arts and historical heritage.

The Portsmouth Museum & Fine Arts Commission (MFAC) Meeting Schedule 

1st Tuesday of each month (no meetings in July or December)

Meetings are held at: Children’s Museum of Virginia 221 High Street at  5:30 PM

Parking is available in the Middle Street Garage.


View Most Recent Agenda


Timiko Winn - Chair

Kathy Cullen - Vice Chair

Linda Dyer - Secretary

Joseph Brown

Lisa Gardner

Kenyatta Handy

Amelia Horton

Rosa Jones-Williams

Charles Kalan

Patricia Knight

Jeannie McCoy

Lawrence Owes

Ronald Peterman

Doris Shelton* (Ex Officio - African American Historical Society of Portsmouth)